View From Table 9

May 24, 2008

In the Northwoods

Filed under: Travelogues — table9 @ 11:03 am
Tags: , , , ,

This week I headed to Minneapolis MN for a few days.  Minneapolis is beautiful in the spring – so much so you think, “Man, I could live here!”  Then you remember Minneapolis in the winter (brrr).

Most of the time was spent in meetings, but I did get out a little bit. First, we had a block of free time to visit the Mall of America.   For many years now I’ve heard what an amazing place it is, how huge, how it’s a ‘destination’, ‘mecca’ for shoppers. Well, it is indeed huge, and yes there’s an amusement plaza complete with a ferris wheel and roller coasters in the center.  Other than that, it’s really just a mall, and one filled mostly with national chain stores that you can go to anywhere else in the country.  Granted, I got some deals at H & M and Nordstrom Rack, but these are both stores I can go to at home.  It was a nice way to kill time, and hey, I can say I’ve been there, that’s about all I can say.

The other place I went to was Sunsets Restaurant in Wayzata, MN.  Now, this place is not the easiest to find for someone from out of town, but once you get there, it’s lovely. It’s right on lake Minnetonka, and in a small resort town atmosphere with local stores all around.  The food was very good and the views were amazing.  I can now see why people love summering on the lakes in MN, heck this is something I want to do.   Now I finally think I get the appeal of ‘snowbirding’ – summer in the Northwoods, winter in the Desert.  It’s not at all a bad plan.

The one thing I didn’t get to do was to catch a Twins game, maybe another time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

