View From Table 9

June 13, 2008

Mute…Unmute

Filed under: Uncategorized — table9 @ 12:36 am
Tags: , , ,

Last Thursday I had an unfortunate accident involving a glass of lemonade and my keyboard.  The result was a keyboard that could type only ffff444rrr44///rrrfffffff/f/rrr/ff/4 which would have been great if that actually meant anything to anyone.

Being on the frugal side, running out and buying a brand new keyboard wasn’t on the top of my list so I hit eBay, picking up a very nice used keyboard for like half of the cost of a new one.  This left me with a dilemma, though.  Unlike hitting up BestBuy, I’d have to wait several days for my keyboard to arrive.  In the interim, I was voiceless, only able to navigate by mouse, point, click.

It was amazing to me how much I really could do with just the mouse.  I could read newspapers, blogs, check the weather, upload pics from my camera, even do online surveys and such.  Made me think of what it would be like to go through, say, a day, with no voice, only pointing, gesturing, and observing.  Not that I’d make it, but it would be an interesting experiment.

I am overjoyed though that lovely keyboard #2 has arrived.  I plan to Freecycle keyboard #1, as I’m sure somebody could use it for parts.   Being mute was interesting, though I’m glad to be back in the world of the writer.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

